Home » Directors' Report » Board of Directors

Board of Directors

1. Ken Hanna § ‡ ^

Chairman, Chairman of Nomination Committee and Ethics Committee

Ken Hanna was appointed to the Board in October 2010 and appointed as Chairman on 25 April 2012. He is currently Chairman of Inchcape plc and a Non-executive Director of Tesco plc. Ken is also Chairman of Shooting Star/CHASE a South West London charity supporting families with children and teenagers who have life limiting conditions. Until early 2009, Ken was Chief Financial Officer of Cadbury plc. He has also held positions as Operating Partner in Compass Partners, a European Private Equity firm; Group Chief Executive at Dalgety plc; Group Finance Director of United Distillers plc and Group Finance Director of Avis Europe plc. He is a fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants.

  Ken Hanna

2. Rupert Soames OBE

Chief Executive

Rupert Soames joined the Board as Group Chief Executive in July 2003. He was formerly with Misys PLC, where he was Chief Executive of the Banking and Securities Division. Before joining Misys, Rupert was with GEC plc for 15 years, working in a number of their subsidiaries; in the last four years of his service with GEC he was responsible for the UK, African and Asian operations of Avery Berkel. He is Senior Independent Director of Electrocomponents plc. 

  Rupert Soames

3. Angus Cockburn

Chief Financial Officer

Angus Cockburn, a Chartered Accountant, joined Aggreko in May 2000 as Finance Director. He was previously Managing Director of Pringle of Scotland, a division of Dawson International PLC, having joined that company in 1997 from PepsiCo Inc. At PepsiCo he spent five years in various positions, latterly as Regional Finance Director for Central Europe based in Budapest. He has worked with KPMG both in the UK and in the USA and has an MBA from the IMD Business School in Switzerland. He is also a Non-executive Director of GKN plc and Howden Joinery Group Plc and former chairman of the Group of Scottish Finance Directors.

  Angus Cockburn

4. Debajit Das

Regional Director - APAC (Asia Pacific) 

Debajit Das joined the Board in January 2013 as the Regional Director for Aggreko's Asia Pacific (APAC) business which includes Australia, Pacific and Asia. He was previously the Managing Director of the Asia business and prior to that he was responsible for Aggreko's Major Event business. Before joining Aggreko in 2006, Debajit worked for General Electric in a variety of leadership positions across its Energy business. He has a B.E. (Hons.) and is a Six-Sigma Master Black Belt.

  Debajit Das

5. Asterios Satrazemis

Regional Director – The Americas

Asterios Satrazemis joined the Board in January 2013. Prior to his appointment as Regional Director for the Americas, he was Aggreko North America's North Business Unit Vice-President from 2008 to 2010, responsible for the Northeast, Great Lakes, Central and West. In 2010 he moved to Melbourne, Australia to take on the role of Managing Director Australia Pacific. Prior to Aggreko, he spent 10 years with United Rentals in various senior roles with responsibilities including mergers and acquisitions as well as operations. A graduate of the University of Connecticut he worked for Deloitte upon completion of his degree.

  Asterios Satrazemis

6. David Taylor-Smith MBE

Regional Director – EMEA (Europe, Middle East and Africa)

David Taylor-Smith joins the Board in March 2013 as Regional Director, Europe, Middle East and Africa. Prior to this he worked for G4S plc for fourteen years where his last appointment was Group Chief Operating Officer and Regional CEO UK, Ireland and Africa. Prior to joining G4S, David held senior roles with Securicor Plc and Jardine Matheson in Hong Kong. Before this he was a British army officer and served in Northern Ireland, Germany, England and in Cyprus with the United Nations. David has a degree from the University of Southampton and is a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society. He has sat on the board of several charities and on the Public Services Board of the CBI. In 2003 he was awarded the MBE in recognition of his charitable activities overseas.

  David Taylor-Smith

7. David Hamill * § ‡ ^

Non-executive Director, Senior Independent Director

David Hamill was appointed to the Board in May 2007. He was appointed Chairman of Ideal Standard International in February 2011 having been with the Company since January 2010. He was until December 2007 Chairman and Chief Executive of ICI Paints and a main board director of ICI. In January 2008 ICI was acquired by Akzo Nobel and for the calendar year of 2008, Mr Hamill led the integration process, forming the world's largest decorative paints business. During 2009, he was appointed as Senior Advisor to Bain Capital and has developed personal business interests.

  D Hamill

8. Russell King * § ‡

Non-executive Director, Chairman of Remuneration Committee

Russell King joined the Board in February 2009. He was appointed Non-executive Director of Spectris plc in October 2010. He is Non-executive Chairman of GeoProMining Ltd, a privately-owned mining company operating in the CIS. He is senior advisor to RBC Capital Markets and Heidrick & Struggles and the founder of Sorrett Advisors. Until October 2009 he was Chief Strategy Officer of Anglo American PLC, having joined Anglo American as Group Head of Human Resources, Business Development and Sustainable Development in 2001. Previously, he spent over 20 years at ICI, with experience in its fertiliser, petrochemical and paint businesses.

  R King

9. Diana Layfield ^

Non-executive Director

Diana Layfield was appointed to the Board in May 2012. Diana is Chief Executive Officer, Africa Region for Standard Chartered Plc. Roles she has held over the past nine years at Standard Chartered include Chief Operating Officer of the Wholesale Bank, Group Head of Strategy and Corporate Development and Group Head of Global Corporate Clients. Prior to Standard Chartered, Diana was CEO of a technology venture and spent 5 years as a consultant at McKinsey & Company.

  D Layfield

10. Robert MacLeod * §

Non-executive Director, Chairman of Audit Committee

Robert MacLeod was appointed to the Board in September 2007. He is a Chartered Accountant and is Group Finance Director of Johnson Matthey plc. From June 2004 until June 2009 he was Group Finance Director of WS Atkins plc. He joined the Atkins Group as Group Financial Controller in March 2003 having previously worked in a variety of senior financial roles at Enterprise Oil plc. A graduate of Cambridge University, he trained at KPMG.

  R MacLeod

11. Rebecca McDonald §

Non-executive Director

Rebecca McDonald was appointed to the Board in October 2012. Rebecca was until recently Chief Executive Officer of Laurus Energy Inc., an energy technology company based in Houston. Her past executive appointments include President, Gas and Power, BHP Billiton; Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Enron Global Assets; and President and Chief Executive Officer, Amoco Energy Development Company. She is a Non-executive Director of Veresen Inc, an Alberta-based energy infrastructure company and of Granite Construction Company in the US. She was formerly a Director of BOC Group plc.

  R McDonald

12. Peter Kennerley

Company Secretary

Peter Kennerley was appointed Group Legal Director & Company Secretary in October 2008. He was formerly Company Secretary & General Counsel of Scottish & Newcastle plc and before that a partner at Simmons & Simmons specialising in corporate law. He also spent two years as Secretary to the Takeover Panel.

  P Kennerley

Directors resigned in the year:
Philip Rogerson
Bill Caplan
Kash Pandya
George Walker

Board Committees Membership

* Audit, § Remuneration, Nomination, ^ Ethics